Titles and Copyrights

As it turns out, there is no such writing under any copyright law that states that a title can be copyrighted.  Titles can be trademarked and whatnot, so I wouldn’t go naming anything Star Wars or Lord of the Rings, but they can’t be copyrighted.  Quite the new and interesting fact I’ve just learned today!  And if you don’t believe me, Google it!

Also in other news, it’s a little on the late side (but you know how life gets in the way sometimes) happy 2013!  It’s a new year and with it comes new excuses to slack off.   And unfortunately that applies to me in every aspect.  From college homework to Christmas thank-you cards.  I’ve been slacking on it all.  Today is the first step to ending my slacking streak hopefully.

And with the new fact I’ve learned about copyrights and titles I can start by getting at title set for Theo’s Story!  Yay!

Ok, cheering over.  Nonetheless though, I should avoid having a duplicate title.  Thankfully though, I’ve done my research and there are no other titles that are similar to what I’ve been thinking all this time.

I really want to go with the title 2103.  I did find that this title was the title of an older movie that I have never heard of and I doubt most people would have as well  (if you have heard of it and/or seen it then you’re a step ahead of me!)  and it’s not a common enough title that they would have trademarked it either.  So—going off of that I want to attach something else to the title to change it up.  I know the story is going to be a trilogy, or at the very least it will have a sequel and I would like for them to have similar titles.

Here are some candidates that I’ve been thinking on:

2103: Silent Darkness (or a variation on that)

2103: The Coming Storm

2103: Post Earth (seems reminiscent of a movie that’s coming out soon)

2103: Serene Gail (the name of the ship that Theo ends up traveling aboard)

2103: Legacy (referring to Theo’s Uncle and how the FTL drive is his legacy)

FTL Drive (or a variation on that)

Though, what I’ve been really leaning toward has been 2103: Destiny.  I’ve been thinking that fits more with the story as the plot focuses around one character more than the FTL drive itself.  And stemming from that, the sequel work off of a similar theme.  For the two books I want to write after to continue the story, I was thinking 2104: Divergence, and 2110: Drive.  These are just tentative titles though, but I’ve been putting quite a bit of thought into them.

What do you think?

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “Titles and Copyrights

  1. Aunt Sue

    Nowadays it seems all except the most stringent sticklers for propriety are happy to receive e-mailed thank you notes. And that is so much quicker to do for someone who always has a computer nearby. Hint, hint.
    Interesting to hear about the title trademarking–I had wondered why I would see a movie with the same name as some entirely different movie I’d heard of it the past.

Have any thoughts or feedback?

