Life and Upcoming NaNoWriMo

So… yeah… I’ve haven’t been back here in a while.  I kinda took an impromptu break from working on the blog when college suddenly hit.  That and it was also my birthday toward the beginning of the month.  The fourth to be exact.  And I also came down with a cold and I still can’t seem to shake the cough it left me with.  It’s not bad, but annoying.

Anyway, that’s my first excuse for why I haven’t updated in a while.  The second reason it college is back in full swing and this year is going to be a challenge.  Odd, I’m almost sure I said this last year too.  Déjà vu!  Well being a Junior this year I’ve entered into the higher level classes finally and they are more of a challenge than what I’ve taken before.  Thus the majority of me time and thoughts will be on studying.  This leaves me less time for writing, and as such, I’m going to change my random schedule that I had for posting and slim it down to once a week, if that.

We’ll see how it goes, but you all didn’t come here to listen to me give excuses and rant about college!  You came here to listen to me talk about my writing!  Right?  Regardless, that’s what I’m going to talk about.

Next month is NaNoWriMo!  I’m stoked!  And yet at the same time, I’m probably not going to be doing it as I will have no time with the previously mentioned college taking my life.  I also haven’t had any earth shaking ideas to inspire me in my writing.  Theo’s story still doesn’t have a title, not that I’ve actually devoted a massive chunk of my time to finding one or even trying to sketch out a cover.  It seems every time I come up with an idea for it, it doesn’t fit just right with the story or it’s already taken.  But with so many books and movies out there, it’s hard to not come across a title that hasn’t already been used.

Also Jayko hasn’t taken off anywhere in his story and I need to finish off the what I wrote last NaNoWriMo before I will be able to continue with his story.  Lately my mind has been with Aaron and how I can progress his story.  I’ve been stuck with how to progress his story along to the end I would like to see for it, but it’s hard when there’s not much when my creativity won’t cooperate.  I think that I need to pick up a book and start reading again, I haven’t done that in a while and I need to.  I’ve got a list of books I need to read and for some reason I just can’t bring myself to pick them up.

That aside, back to NaNoWriMo and Aaron, I did have a spark of an idea that I want to pursue.  It basically involves what happens to Aaron after the end of the storyline I’ve been posting here.  I want to end it in a way that leaves him stranded somehow.  From there I want him to discover what it truly means to wield the power he’s been bestowed with.  That and he has to find out what Headquarters is up to and stop them.  And there’s going to be something with Van, but I don’t want to reveal to much yet as I don’t even know what’s going to happen!

That said, I need to gauge my time and see if I can get my schedule in order by the end of this month if I’m even going to have any thoughts of trying to do NaNoWriMo.

So there you all have it, college, life, and NaNoWriMo wrapped up into one post.  And a long one at that.  I’d thought this was going to be a short post, but I apparently had more to say than originally planned.

Oh well, more of Aaron’s story is up next.  Happy Writing!

Cheers!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Life and Upcoming NaNoWriMo

  1. Best of luck. If I were you, I’d put other writing on hold and just do it. You can always use another manuscript under your belt. Plus the benefit of NaNoWriMo is that you get used to working faster and harder. It’s a nice powerup you can claim once a year.

    • Thanks! It really is a nice power-up and I’m excited to do it. And hopefully I’ll be able to if my workload at college lets up enough for me. I have an idea I want to run with, but we’ll see in a couple more weeks.

Have any thoughts or feedback?

