Shame and Cover Art

Shame on me!  I have not been putting aside time for writing lately, so I’m behind on Black-Heart, and Just about anything else that I’ve been working on, though with Theo’s Story mostly edited I should have time or at least be focusing on thinking up a title—which of course I still have not come up on with one.  I do however have a cover image that I need to expand upon and work with.  I was able to come up with a rough sketch that I think I like.  Now I need to sketch it out onto a larger sheet of paper and see it’s what I want.

If I can find a few hours (more like half a day with the way I draw) I should be able to get it fleshed out and finished up enough to scan in and post a preview of what it will look like.  Until then, you’ll just have to settle with a description of it.

So far it is just a space-suited figure standing on the hull of a ship/space station looking out over the face of Mars.  That’s about the extent of it.  I want to put something else in with it, either another ship or the Space Elevator that is a prominent location in the first part of the story.  But we’ll see if my artistic skills are up to the challenge to add in lots of detail like that.

One thing I did noticed with this sketch that was familiar to my last cover was that it was a view from behind the person in the image.  They are looking out at something and we are looking at them.  I think that’s mostly due to the fact that I can’t draw people very well from the front.

I had considered and image of Mars for the cover, but I wasn’t sure if it would fit with the theme very well.  It was either that or I try and do an image of the ship that the main characters are on most of the time.  What I think I need is some form of vista or a view of the planet or the asteroid belt or something along those lines.

I’m sure most of you out there have read quite a few books.  What covers where your favorites?  And what do you think would look good on the cover of a Sci-Fi book set in the future in our very own Solar System?

Leave a comment

Filed under Novels, Uncategorized

Have any thoughts or feedback?

