Out of Gas –Yup, That’s Me

Yup, that title pretty much sums it up.  I haven’t been doing much writing or reading, or editing for that matter.  I did get a little bit farther with Theo’s Story, but it doesn’t need that much in the way of major editing.  I’ve been feeling like I’ve been running on empty lately… no new idea’s for Black-Heart either!  That’s a shock!

I figure I’ll get my creativity back eventually, but in the mean time, I’m still agonizing over the title for Theo’s Story and thought that I would run a few themes by everyone.

The story is based around the idea, of the discovery of faster than light travel, FTL, and what would happen if the greedy corporations that control the asteroid belt got their hands on it first.

What do you think would happen?

After this point there may be spoilers, but I will try to keep them to a minimum.

Following this theme, the story takes place in the year 2103, 50 some years after the earth has been devastated by nuclear war and become a wasteland.  Humanity has moved into space and has colonized Mars in an attempt to survive and continue on.

That’s sort of another theme right there.  A new beginning for humanity in space.  And it really does become a new beginning when the secret to FTL travel is discovered.  Problem is the discovery has been hidden away by corporate greed.  That is until it’s stolen, spirited away by a smuggler who has no clue as to what to do with it.  Running into the nephew of the man who helped to crack the secret to FTL, the smuggler takes him along in hopes that he will be able to help him.

The story spans the solar system going from Neptune to Mars, to the moon, and the asteroid belt and even the wasteland of Earth.

I guess that could be another running theme in the story, but it’s not much of one.

Here’s a different theme that I came up with a while ago and was hiding in my notes: Humanity’s hunger for power and the advancement of technology.

That kind of fits with the story.  The corporation that the drive was stolen from is a semi-constant presence as they try to reclaim their stolen property.  But if they get their hands on it, they plan to sequester it away for their use only and not share it with the rest of the system.

* Spoiler time for those of you who wand to read the book and not know what happens. *

In the end Theo ends up activating the FTL drive, the ‘secret’ to FTL travel, in an attempt to escape from the greedy jaws of the corporation.  A sort of sacrifice for the greater good ending.  I don’t know if that should work it’s way into the title, or if there’s even a hidden theme in there.

So, currently the title is: 2103: Theo’s Story.

I’ve tossed around titles like 2103: Advent, FTL Drive, Theo’s Journey, Legacy Drive, or 2103: Post-Earth.

I still haven’t had any luck with finding something that fits.

What do you think?

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Out of Gas –Yup, That’s Me

  1. I would go with Journey or Tale rather than Story. The word Dilemma comes to mind as he has a difficult or puzzling decision to make. I like Enigma too, but not sure that would apply. I will keep my thinking cap on….

  2. Theo was on Mars, right? and then left? I had a terribley “punny” title just pop into my head: A Farewell to Mars. OK, go ahead and groan now.

    • I keep trying to think of journey-style names, but nothing that really works comes to me. He does have a puzzling decision to make as well, so Dilemma is interesting. I’ve been thinking on more drop-off style names or beginning-style names.
      That’s a pretty good title pun. Might work too. It does apply more to the story that most of the other one’s I’ve come up with. If you get anymore ideas let me know! =]

Have any thoughts or feedback?

