Theo’s Story

I have this feeling of satisfaction, of completion now.  I feel accomplished.  It’s hard to describe, but with Star Catcher done and out there for people to enjoy, I feel complete.

It’s weird, I don’t get to experience this feeling much, so it’s new for me.  In all reality, it’s akin to my life’s work being completed which is a weird feeling.  And yet, I still  have more to write.

As for Star Catcher you should totally check out the book!  20% is free as a sample, so if you like it you can buy it.  Tell your friends though, spread the word.  Help out a poor college student trying to get by. Winking smile

With that done though, I now start moving on to another project that I have had in the works for a while and has been sitting on the back burner, as it were.  The working title right now it Theo’s Story.  I wrote this story back in high school and tried to get it published for my senior project, but I didn’t take into account self-publishing at the time as my project was on traditional publishing.  Truthfully though, eBooks were still fairly new to me and I was biased against them cause I still like being able to actually hold the book in my hand.  That and I was totally against self-publishing cause it cost me money and I was not willing to do it.  I have a different view of all of that now with eBooks and self-publishing with Smashwords.  I’ve done my research.

So Theo’s Story takes place in the Solar System after World War III, I forget how far in the future it is, something like 50 years or more, not sure.  I’ll have to look it up.  It’s been a long time since I’ve even looked at it, so it’s not very fresh in my mind, and I’m hoping this will help with editing it.  I will be able to read it for what it is.

The story itself is about the discovery of faster than light travel and what would happen if the corporations that control the asteroid belt got their hands on it.

The main character, Theo ends up getting dragged into a conflict between the corporations and a smuggler by the name of Dustin Anthony who has somehow gotten his hands on the prototype FTL drive.  Theo has to work to keep the drive out of the hands of the greedy corporations who would monopolize it for themselves and figure out how the drive is supposed to work.

They end up traveling all over the solar system and even visit post-apocalyptic Earth for a short while.

It’s a neat story I think and those who helped me edit it back then liked it as well.  So we’ll see where it goes.  It still needs some work and I wasn’t satisfied with some areas of the story, but if I can find any spare time in between all of the work college is throwing at me, I’m going to pick it up and get it started again.  And that may not end up happening for a while. I have at least three midterms this next week and I’m taking all engineering, and science classes, with a math class thrown in, so it’ll be challenging, but I need those A’s so that what I’m working toward.

Anyway, I should wrap up this post before I ramble on too long.  I’ve got writing and college to do!

Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Novels, Writing

Have any thoughts or feedback?

