Day 30 of NaNoWriMo: I’m a Winner!

Word Count: 50398

That’s right!  Through thick and thin, through college and piles and piles of homework, through the release of Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (the best game ever!) and all the other stuff that life threw at me this month—I did it!  I got to 50,000 words, by a hair!  I’m still amazed that I was able to catch up around Thanksgiving.  It was looking not so good, but I did it.  And my novel’s not done yet too!  I have at least anther five if not eight thousand more words to go.  I’m not sure if that’s cheating or not, but it doesn’t say anything about not finishing it, just that I have to write 50,000 words.  Either way!  I did it, and so far this part of my novel is coming along well.  I’ve gotten to more of the action.  My characters have resolved some of their misgivings and odd bi-polar-ness stuff and everyone’s doing their part in the story.

That said, it’s still going to need a lot of editing, but then again, when doesn’t a novel need editing after the pure creativity-driven frantic race to write so many words by the end of the month epic competition that is NaNoWriMo.  Nothing can compare to the pure creativity that spills out over the pages of our novel.  Now that’s it’s all been spilled out though, it’s time to clean it up into the proper book it should be.

That’s definitely a rather interesting metaphor.

Now, after everything, I shall turn to my friends and family and anyone else that I can coerce into reading my novel and asked them if they will help me edit it.  Cause boy am I never going to be able to catch all my own mistakes.  And that’s the truth.  There’s a lot of them too.

But now that NaNoWriMo is done, I can focus on Finals here at college and maybe get some learning done.  And some playing of Skyrim, too.

Oh, and on a side note, I participated in No-Shave-November here at my dorm.  The votes were tallied tonight, and I won Most Patchiest Beard!  Woo!  That’s right!  It’s not that I don’t have that much facial hair, it’s just that aside from it being really-really blonde, I just can’t grow a full beard due to my genes.  Not that I’m complaining.  That just means I don’t have to shave nearly as much as other people.

This November has really been a hectic one, but it’s over and done with.  I’ll continue working on this recent novel and Star Catcher as well.  Still have to get that one fully polished so I can publish. But this means it’s back to my regular, semi-frequent blog posting, so I should have more stuff up here more frequently.  I’ve been itching to continue Aaron Black’s story.  I think I might make a category where I will compile all the short stories about him for easy reading, so keep your eyes open for that.

Until next post!  Cheers!

2 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo

2 responses to “Day 30 of NaNoWriMo: I’m a Winner!

  1. Yay! I don’t think my side of the family has any trouble with beards, but then they all had mustaches, so what do I know? Congrats on catching up with the word count–I had faith in you! Hope you got some sleep in as well. WOOT!

  2. Yeah, I’m not so sure about your side of the family either… and yes, I did get sleep. It wasn’t nearly enough sleep, but it was sleep. :]

Have any thoughts or feedback?

