Day Five of NaNoWriMo

Word Count: 8177

What!?  It’s day five already.  This is going slightly better than expected and worse.  I said to myself that I was going to push to 10,000 words today.  That’s may or may not happen considering I wasted away the day watching anime for a good four hours or more.  Not to mention playing Xbox as well, but I needed a break from the killer pile of college work that I have to tackle tomorrow among other things.

At least my story seems to be getting off to a good start.  I’m having trouble figuring out what to write after I finish a chapter.  I know what I want, I just can’t put it to word.  And I think this is due to my lack of reading fictions books.  Text books aren’t much help.  I know I need to focus on description too.  My characters are fleshing out nicely, but their settings aren’t and that’s a problem.  Since this story is sort of a sequel to Star Catcher, most of the characters have been defined and so has setting.  But  I want to define them some more and give them a better background.  I also want the book to be the beginning of something and have it so you don’t have to read Star Cather to fully know what’s going on with everything.  I don’t know… it’s gives me pause.  Something I can’t have happening when I get behind on my word count.

I also updated yWriter just before November started and there is a new typing speed indicator at the bottom of the writing screen now.  It’s keeps distracting me cause I always look at it to see what my words per minute is.  I’ve never really clocked myself, so it’s fascinating.  I apparently have a peak 103 wpm but I think my average is around 60 or 70 wpm.

Anyway!  Thank you to everyone who wished me Good Luck in the comments on my last post.  It sounds like there is a lot going on with everyone’s novels.  Definitely Good Luck to all you guys!

And now I take my leave to continue writing.

Cheers and Good Luck!

2 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo

2 responses to “Day Five of NaNoWriMo

  1. Nancy

    Speed is good, but so is accuracy–so you don’t have to back up and correct all the time (which I find myself doing when I type too fast). I’ve watched you type–your fingers really do fly at times!

Have any thoughts or feedback?

