Falling Off

I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth just quite yet!  Well… almost.  With college in full swing and getting sick and having my birthday yesterday, I have not had much time to devote to thinking about writing, let alone getting to do any writing at all.  I had a fun birthday though with everyone coming to visit and all, and bringing me cookies and cake.

I know, I know, NaNoWriMo is so close, I should be preparing, I should be fleshing out ideas, planning.  I have my idea though, and I write with very little planning so, I think I’m set for this year.

With what little time I have had, I sketched up another cover which, if I can find any time at all in the next few days, I am going to try and color using Photoshop, or Gimp, whichever decides to work better for me.  That’s my goal for this next week.  Once I have it finished, I will see about getting the other one scanned in and coloring that one up just for fun too.

One thing that I did finish a little while ago and got edited but forgot about it because I wrote it as a note on my iPod touch was the blurb or summary or… I can’t remember what the description on the back of the book is called… for Star Catcher, but I got it finished.  Here it is:

Jayko Troven lost his family at the age of six.  Adopted by Aronon, the Captain of the Star Catcher, a freelance cargo ship, Jayko grew up traveling from one star to the next.  Restless from a life of work and travel, he wonders if there is more out there for him in the galaxy.  But when the captain takes on a cargo destined for Jayko’s homeworld, events from the past come rushing back to Jayko and he must make a difficult decision about the cargo that could usher in a new era or destroy his homeworld.

Questions?  Comments?  Feedback?  Any editing that needs to be done?  I spent forever on this and I would like to be as catchy and descriptive as possible.  I want to suck the reader in with this short paragraph and make them say, “I want to read this book!”  Well that might not happen, but you get my point.

And here’s something that I have never done before and I thought I would try for this year’s NaNoWriMo; I wrote a short blurb for that story too.  This way I will have more of a direction for this year’s NaNo.  Here it is:

When the crew of the Star Catcher, a freelance cargo ship, send word to Jayko Troven for help, he leaves behind his sojourn into the core worlds to return to them.  But when he meets up with the ship, he finds that the captain, Aronon, his old mentor, is missing, stranded on a planet in the outer fringe of space.  With an alien fleet ravaging colony worlds on the fringe, thoughts of rescue dominate Jayko’s decisions.  Taking his place as substitute captain, he drives the crew on a rescue mission to find Aronon and bring him back alive.

Now this one hasn’t spent nearly as much time stewing in my brain as the one before it has, so it’s a little awkward in some areas.  Sentences may be a little long, but I’m hoping it has a similar effect as the one above does.  After NaNo I will know the full story and be better able to rewrite it and edit it.  But this is the story that I want to write for NaNoWriMo this year.

It is going to have a lot of the same characters and I want to try and better define some of them and have them show their true colors as things get really tense.  If all goes as planned I want to have more drama and more action than I did in Star Catcher.  Don’t get me wrong there is action, but not nearly as many broken noses and fist fights as I would have liked (What can I say, I’m a guy).

I also want it to be a start of a series that can be read as a stand-alone book and not just pick up where Star Catcher left off.  Although, this whole re-envisioning of my old Jayko Story is shaping up nicely to make a good book series.  In the old Jayko Story I had a war in the past that I eluded to at points that I had called the TechCorp War and during this next NaNo I want to start that war.

It’ll be fun!

Hopefully I’ll have cover pictures next post.  Until then.  Cheers!

3 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo, Writing

3 responses to “Falling Off

  1. daniel

    Do want pictures!!! Im very interested in both which program works better for you and the new story.

  2. Tessa Freeland

    Take out the ‘about the cargo’ part in the first one, I think that would give it a more mysterious feeling and make it a little shorter.

Have any thoughts or feedback?

