Semi-inspired

Well… let’s just say that I have not had that great of a time coming up with cover art for Star Catcher.  I’ve got a few ideas: a planet backed by the rising sun, Jayko standing in the foreground looking up at it, with the Star Catcher racing off into orbit.  Or the Star Catcher sitting on it’s landing struts in a field with Jayko standing under it looking up.  Or just the Star Catcher by itself.  Or another idea someone mentioned to me: have the flying city that Jayko grew up in on the cover either flying in the sky, or I could have it in ruins sitting at the foot of a mountain, the Star Catcher sitting in a field of grass facing it in the foreground.  (I would love to see that one).  I did have a recent idea of having Jayko standing on the catwalk inside hold of the Star catcher looking at the artifact that dominates the entire space.

There’s quite a bit for me to work off of, but I’m not entirely sure what makes up a good book cover.  I tried to sketch up a few of these to see what they would look like and promptly found out how out of practice I am at sketching things like people, let alone spaceships.  So the book cover is still up in the air and I don’t have any sketches to post here on the blog.  I would love to get at least some of them finalized and scanned in so I could do some sort of voting thing to see which ones people would like the most.  But for that I need to have more than one unfinished sketch.

On another note, I talked with the artist I want to do the cover art and she is a little unsure of what to do for it as well.  And this is understandable.  I’ve been able to give her some ideas, but once she finishes reading the story, then she should hopefully have a better idea what would look good.

I don’t know how many of you out there reading this are artists or have had the same challenge of trying to design a book cover, but if you have any advice… What makes up a good cover?  What makes it memorable?  What inspired your book cover(s) (for any author readers out there)?  How was it (or how should it be) colored: pencils, pastels, paints, or computer?  Can you recommend any artists who do book covers?

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Have any thoughts or feedback?

