NaNoWriMo 2010

I know, it’s 2011 already, I should have had this thing finished after December and need to be thinking about NaNoWriMo 2011, but with college and all, it took some time.  For all of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month.  This takes place in November and anyone who participates has to write 50,000 words in 30 days.  That was the first year that I have done NaNoWriMo and I had a blast with it.  I signed up less than a few weeks beforehand and I was scared out of my mind that I would not be able to write a book in a month, let alone finish it with college going on on top of it.  I almost didn’t sign up for it, but it was too fun to pass up and I really wanted to write something again.

At the time I was working on a sequel to Theo’s Story.  I was about five or so chapters in and I wanted to work on that, but I had no idea where I wanted to go with it.  I had some what of an outline that I was working with, but having signed up for NaNoWriMo I couldn’t use it as what I was going to write during November.  One of the rules of NaNoWriMo was that no works started before hand could be used for NaNoWriMo.  Outlines and character developments, notes, etc. were allowed thought.  I had none of those though.  I was more or less totally unprepared and I was scared I wouldn’t be able to do it.

It wasn’t easy starting on the first day.  I had to pound out at least two thousand words a day with no editing, no going back and revising, just pure, mad, raw, creative writing.  I am a big editor if I don’t like something that I have written and it was very hard to not go back and redo the whole first chapter.  However though, I was surprised to find, that when I didn’t second guess myself on my own writing and just wrote, what came out was actually not too bad.  Yeah, there were a ton of misspells and errors throughout the whole thing as I wrote, but it I liked where the story was going once I had gotten it started.  2000 words a day with college on top of it was definitely a challenge, especially when I missed a day or so at a time and had to make up for it.  I have never been one for writing large chunks at a time, so it took me a while but I was able to finish with just over 52,000 words.  That totally surprised me and I was elated that I had been able to write so much in such a short time.

I titled the story Star Catcher.  It had turned out differently that I had originally imagined, and that definitely wasn’t a bad thing.  Originally it was meant to be a backstory, more or less for my ‘trunked’ novel the Titan Mystery.  It dealt more with the origins of the main character, Jayko Troven and developed him as such.  I’ll talk more about him in my next post, but I want to say a few things about the storyline.  The story is set in an different galaxy, and I had intended it to be about finding Earth.  That was supposed to be the hook I guess.  Where was this whole galactic civilization in relation to Earth?  In the story Earth had been lost a long long long time ago, and Jayko’s father wanted to find it.  This involved lost technology that was millennia old and isn’t the easiest thing to operate after that amount of time.  And the story of course involves a madman trying to find Earth as well and a whole bunch of mayhem.  Definitely fun stuff, at least that my opinion.

So this is what I wrote for NaNoWriMo and it is my current project that I am trying to finish at the moment.  I guess that I’ll be going into some about my characters in the next post or two and give some background or just to develop them some more.  I want to use quite a few of them in the next story that I am going to write for NaNoWriMo 2011, so it’ll be interesting to see how things turn out this next November.

2 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2010

  1. I’m also looking forward to this year’s NaNo. Lucky you, with only one book behind you to finish up. I’m just getting around to my 2009 novel. But I did manage to write another complete novel this year, so I’m not feeling too bad about it. NaNo is a great challenge, especially for people with jobs or who are going to school. Here’s a hint that might take some of the pressure off you this year. As early on as you can, do at least one day, preferably two or three of a writing marathon. 3,000 to 4,000 words a day. Even with as much free time as I have, there are days when life gets in the way and I don’t make the 1,667 minimum. But with the extra cushion behind me, I don’t have to panic. Just as in any race, pacing yourself is important.

    • Thanks for the comment, and the advice. That is the one thing that I am going to definitely try to do since I’m going to be taking a heavier course load in school. I have new ideas for this year’s NaNo, so it will be fun. :-)

Have any thoughts or feedback?

